Sun. Sep 24th, 2023

African Profile

Alphabetical List of All African Countries, with capitals and national state names
Official State Name (English) Capital National State Name
Algeria, People’s Democratic Republic Of Algiers Al Jaza’ir
Angola, Republic of Luanda Angola
Benin, Republic of Porto-Novo (official)
Cotonou (seat of government)
Botswana, Republic of Gaborone Botswana
Burkina Faso Oaugadougou Burkina Faso
Burundi, Republic of Bujumbura Burundi
Cabo Verde, Republic of (Cabo Verde) Praia Cabo Verde
Cameroon, Republic of Yaoundé Cameroon / Cameroun
Central African Republic (CAR) Bangui Republique Centrafricaine
Chad, Republic of N’Djamena Tchad / Tshad
Comoros, Union of the Moroni Komori (Comorian)
Comores (French)
Juzur al Qamar (Arabic)
Congo, Democratic Republic of the (DRC) Kinshasa Republique Democratique du Congo (RDC)
Congo, Republic of the Brazzaville Congo
Côte d’Ivoire (Ivory Coast) Yamoussoukro (official)
Abidjan (administrative seat)
Cote d’Ivoire
Djibouti, Republic of Djibouti Djibouti / Jibuti
Egypt, Arab Republic of Cairo Misr
Equatorial Guinea, Republic of Malabo Guinea Ecuatorial/Guinee Equatoriale
Eritrea, State of Asmara Ertra
Ethiopia, Federal Democratic Republic of Addis Ababa Ityop’iya
Gabonese Republic, (Gabon) Libreville Gabon
Gambia, Republic of The Banjul The Gambia
Ghana, Republic of Accra Ghana
Guinea, Republic of Conakry Guinee
Guinea-Bissau, Republic of Bissau Guine-Bissau
Kenya, Republic of Nairobi Kenya
Lesotho, Kingdom of Maseru Lesotho
Liberia, Republic of Monrovia Liberia
Libya Tripoli Libiya
Madagascar, Republic of Antananarivo Madagascar / Madagasikara
Malawi, Republic of Lilongwe Malawi
Mali, Republic of Bamako Mali
Mauritania, Islamic Republic of Nouakchott Muritaniyah
Mauritius, Republic of Port Louis Mauritius
Morocco, Kingdom of Rabat Al Maghrib
Mozambique, Republic of Maputo Mocambique
Namibia, Republic of Windhoek Namibia
Niger, Republic of Niamey Niger
Nigeria, Federal Republic of Abuja Nigeria
 **Reunion (an Overseas Department of France) Paris, France
[dept. capital=Saint-Denis]
Rwanda, Republic of Kigali Rwanda
 **Saint Helena, Ascension, and Tristan da Cunha
(a British Overseas Territory)
London, U.K.
(administrative centre= Jamestown,
Saint Helena)
Saint Helena, Ascension, and Tristan da Cunha
São Tomé and Principe, Democratic Republic of São Tomé São Tomé e Principe
Senegal, Republic of Dakar Senegal
Seychelles, Republic of Victoria Seychelles
Sierra Leone, Republic of Freetown Sierra Leone
Somalia, Federal Republic of Mogadishu Soomaaliya
South Africa, Republic of Pretoria South Africa
South Sudan, Republic of Juba South Sudan
Sudan, Republic of the Khartoum As-Sudan
Swaziland, Kingdom of Mbabane (official)
Lobamba (royal and legislative capital)
Umbuso weSwatini
Tanzania, United Republic of Dodoma (official)
Dar es Salaam (former capital and seat of executive)
Togolese Republic (Togo) Lomé Republique Togolaise
Tunisia, Republic of Tunis Tunis
Uganda, Republic of Kampala Uganda
 **Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic (Western Sahara)
[state recognized by the African Union but claimed by Morocco]
El-Aaiún (Laayoune) (official)
Tifariti (provisional)
Sahrawi / Saharawi
Zambia, Republic of Lusaka Zambia
Zimbabwe, Republic of Harare Zimbabwe